Progress?

I can always rely on James Baldwin’s words for comfort in times I am furious and scared with American injustice. When people asked about his “bitterness” after the assassinations of Malcom X and Martin Luther King (who he knew personally). This was his response.

“What is it do you want me to reconcile myself to? I was born here almost 60 years ago. I’m not going to live another 60 years. You always told me it takes time. It’s taken my mothers time. My father’s time. My uncle’s time. My brother’s and my sister’s time. My niece’s and my nephew’s time. How much time do you want?

For your progress?”

Leave a Reply (Respectfully)

